Catoosa County Government Website
Tax Commissioner
Auto Tags
Catoosa County has two permanent locations for handling motor vehicle transactions. The main office is at 796 Lafayette Street in Ringgold, telephone 706-965-2571. A satellite office is located at the Fort Oglethorpe Constitution Hall, telephone 706-861-1809. Office hours are 8:30 a.m. 5:00 p.m., Monday Friday.

RENEWALS Georgia law requires that all auto tags be renewed within 30 days before the owners' birthday. Tags expire at midnight on the birthday of the first person listed on the registration as owner. Renewals after this day will be subject to a 10% penalty on the ad valorem tax, 25% penalty on the tag fee. Georgia law requires collection of penalties and interest on ALL late registrations.  Tags may be renewed on-line at: http://mvd.dor.ga.gov/tags/

All residents who have obtained Georgia license plates during the current year should receive a renewal prebill the following year to renew the tag and pay the ad valorem taxes. If you do not receive your renewal by 30 days prior to your birthday, call 706-965-2571 and a prebill will be mailed or come into the office and one will be printed. For fast convenient service, mail your tag renewal and application. 

NEW RESIDENTS New residents must purchase a Georgia tag and/or decal within 30 days after residence is established. Visitors who remain in the state for less than 90 days, and out-of state students are not required to register their vehicles in Georgia as long as they display a valid license plate from their home state unless they accept employment or engage in any trade, profession, or occupation in the state, or enters his or her children in Georgia public schools. In this case, they must purchase a Georgia tag and/or decal within 30 days after entering Georgia.  If you are coming in from another state, you must register in person and bring the following:

  1. Your title or finance papers if the title is held by a lienholder and mailing address of lienholder. The account number is required if there is a lien.
  2. Your current out-of state registration.
  3. Copy of insurance binder for new coverage for Georgia.
  4. Odometer reading, the date you purchased vehicle, and number of cylinders.
  5. For a leased vehicle, the name and address of the company owning the vehicle and an original power of attorney.
  6. Georgia Driver's License