If one of the parties is a resident of Georgia, the license can be
issued in any county. If neither party is a resident of Georgia, the license must be issued
in the county in which the marriage ceremony is to be performed.
A marriage license is issued based upon a written application made by
the applicants, verified by oath of the applicants.
No blood test
The applicants must designate on the application the legal surname that
will be used after the marriage. An applicant may choose his or her given
surname or his or her surname as changed by order of the superior court,
the surname from a previous marriage, the spouse's surname, or a
combination of the spouse's surname and the applicant's given or changed
surname or surname from a previous marriage.
The parties must be of sound mind, must have no living spouse from an
undissolved prior marriage, and must not be related in a degree prohibited
by law. If the parties are at least 18 years of age, they may apply
without parental consent. If either or both parties are less than 18
years of age, but at least 16 years of age, the parties may apply
only with parental consent of the underage party or parties. Under
18 years of age both parents must sign,doesn't matter if female is
pregnant or not. All applicants under the age of 18 mush have
parents signature. If parents are divorced, the parent that has
legal custody must bring divorce papers and papers where they were
awarded custody in order for them to sign. No license issued under
16 years of age.
Persons related by blood or marriage, falling within the following
relationships may not be married in Georgia: (1) father and daughter or
stepdaughter, (2) mother and son or stepson, (3) brother and sister of the
whole blood or half blood, (4) grandparent and grandchild, (5) aunt and
nephew, and (6) uncle and niece.
Check the individual county probate courts for more information
concerning each court.